Irish Poker Open Paddy Power

Added: January 14, 2013

To qualify for the Irish Poker open tournament, players must be 18 years of age or above. The actual buy-in for the Irish Open Main event has been lowered this year and it now costs €2000 Buy In + €250 Registration Fee (all Irish Open event registration fees are inclusive of a 23% VAT charge). This epic poker tournament will be taking place at the same venue as in previous years during the 2012 Easter Bank Holiday weekend in Dublin, Ireland.

In terms of longest running poker tournaments in the world, the Irish Open is second only to The World Series of Poker (WSOP), which takes place annually in Las Vegas. The first ever Irish Poker Open tournament took place way back in 1981. It was organised by a leading Irish bookmaker called Terry Rogers and just like the WSOP main event, players can also watch coverage of this Irish event on live television.

Depending on which Playtech powered poker site you are signed up to will determine the types of feeder satellite tournaments that are actually available to you as a player trying to qualify. For example at Paddy Power Poker, the 'buy-ins' currently range from €30 to €160. Players that are good enough can therefore qualify for the Irish Open for a fraction of the price that a main event ticket usually costs by winning one or more of these satellites.

These feeder tourneys will take place on a weekly basis until just days before the main land based event is scheduled to take place. In 2008, the winner was a player called Neil Channing. In 2009, the winner was Christer Johansson. In 2010, the winner was James Mitchell. In 2011 the winner was Niall Smyth and in 2012 the winner was Kevin Vandersmissen.

The final table in 2012 included the following players: Kevin Vandersmissen, who scooped the top prize of €420,000. In second place was Thomas Beer who won €225,000. In third place was David 'Dixi' Dean who won €158,000 and in fourth place was Ian Simpson who won €107,500. In fifth place was Steve Watts who won €78,000. Sixth place was paid €59,000. Seventh Place was paid €44,500. Eighth place was paid €32,700 and ninth place was paid €23,000.

This is one of the most exciting events on the poker calendar, so if you consider yourself a bit of a shark, you can either gather the funds together and buy yourself a ticket to the main event or you can try and climb your way up through the satellites that are available online now, in some cases from as little as €1.00.

Back to Top